My Poetry Journal

I’ve spoken about my book journal before, and a book journal is a very common thing, especially in the bookie community! But when doing my research before starting the book journal, hoping to find some needed inspiration, I could find none (except for some pinterest boards of children’s ones).

So now I’m just going to give a quick overview of mine, if anyone is interested I can do another post with pictures and examples of it, but right now it isn’t with me.

 

The Journal

It is a hardback journal from Paperchase, and was a fantastic find. It was only £9 for a fantastic journal, and I am very happy with it (so happy in fact, that I now have all three patterns in the collection). It has thin lines, space for a title, and lots of pages!

 

It’s Whats Inside That Matters

When you first open it up, I have a double page title page, with pretty doodles and a few very short poems which are inspiring to me, in nice(ish) calligraphy.

After that, I dive straight in with the poetry. I was feeling confident at the beginning, with the first two poems being originals, but after that, most of the poetry is copied.

There’s no rhyme or reason to the order of the poems, I just copy down ones that speak to me at the time, from wherever I see it. There’s more about where I get the poems from at the end.

And at the back of my journal, I have an index, which I’ll tell you more about here:

 

Ordering The Poems

An important thing I realised I had to have quite early on, was a way of tracking the poems. What was important to me was making sure I didn’t copy one down multiple times, which I knew I would do, as my memory is terrible and I don’t look back over it as often as I would like to.

It isn’t a huge deal to me if I do have two copies of one poem in the journal, but I don’t want to waste time on doing something that isn’t really necessary.

So I created the index at the back. It has a numbered list of all the poems and their authors. It doesn’t have page numbers, and I haven’t numbered my pages as of yet.

The benefit of my index is that:

  • I can see the distribution of original poems and copied, because they are two different colours.
  • I can tell whether I’m putting too many of one author in.
  • I can see how many poems it holds! (63 currently)
  • It’s easy to locate poems.

 

Where I Get The Poems From

Obviously, the standard way of finding poetry is through books. I prefer poetry collections from many authors, and I recommend this if you don’t know who you are particularly drawn to yet, because it’s a good way of discovering them without wasting money on poets you end up not liking.

The books I have are: one big collection of poetry, two Shakespeare, a Tennyson and a Blake. I don’t particularly like the Shakespeare, but Tennyson and Blake are very enjoyable. You can get some books quite cheap – look at discount stores like The Works (in the UK) or online, The Book Depository, and The Book People are some of my favourites.

However, you don’t have to spend money to find and enjoy poetry, so here are a few online places to visit:

I have to say, I actually get most of the poems off pinterest – I have a board labelled ‘Poetry Journal’, and I often browse pinterest when I’m waiting in a queue or at lunch or whenever really, so I just sling poetry that catches my eye in there. When I’m at home with my journal, I can scroll through the board until one sparks my interest.

Other places you can get poetry are Tumblr, WordPress, Google, and even Facebook – you can really get them off anywhere if you follow the right topics.

 

And finally, a couple of helpful links:

100 Great Websites for Poetry Lovers

All Poetry

 

I hope you’ve enjoyed this post. If you already have a poetry journal, please let me know in the comments and tell us a bit about it! If you haven’t, what are your thoughts on it?

If you’d like to see pictures of my journal, let me know!

 

Thank you for reading,

— Catriona

What do ya think?

