BR: Winter by Marissa Meyer

 

 

  • Writing quality: 4.5/5
  • Pacing: 4.5/5
  • Characters: 4/5
  • Enjoyability: 3.5/5 
  • Ease of reading: 4.5/5
  • Thought-provoking: 3/5
  • Merit and originality: 4/5
  • Overall love: 12/15

80%

DO NOT READ ON UNLESS YOU HAVE READ THE BOOK – SPOILER ALERT!

 


The last book in the Lunar Chronicles, I can’t say that I was disappointed.

My favourite characters were Torin (Kai’s advisor) and Cress – who I thought really made a huge impact in the effort. I kind of felt like these were the only two characters who really made the extra effort in their cause; some of the time, I was thinking that the other characters were only doing what had to be done, or that they were doing it for selfish reasons (for example, Jacin, who I thought didn’t really care about what was going on at all, he was just blinded by Winter)

I really liked the end, and how Kai and Cinder’s story was finished at the end of the last one – it was a major story arc which started at the beginning of the series, and it was fitting how it finished at the end.

The characters I didn’t like include Jacin (because I could never find it in myself to trust him, and I didn’t like his motivations throughout) and Aimery Park (who was just a bastard). I also found myself getting a bit annoyed with Iko, who didn’t seem to be taking it very seriously at some points, and was just generally a bit annoying.

I think it is a hint that I am growing out of YA that I found the relationships in the series a little awkward and juvenile, although I appreciated how Marissa Meyer split up the characters into some interesting teams throughout the novel, and she split them up more and glued some different pieces together. It was interesting how the different people got word that their friends were in trouble (for example, when Jacin and Cinder? find out that Winter and the sector she is in, including Scarlet, has been infected with the plague, and they go to their rescue).

I did kind of want one of them to die, I just thought with so many characters and with such a dangerous mission, I think one of them should have died.

Altogether, I thought Marissa Meyer possibly dragged the book on a little bit – every single thing that they did, there were major problems, which made for frustrating reading – however, I did enjoy this book and this series, and I would recommend it.


 

Thank you for reading!

– Catriona

 

What do ya think?

