BR: Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour by Morgan Matson

 

This was one of the most disappointing reads of this year for me, unfortunately!

  • Writing quality: 3.5/5
  • Pacing: 3/5
  • Characters: 4/5
  • Enjoyability: 3/5 
  • Ease of reading: 4/5
  • Thought-provoking: 2/5
  • Merit and originality: 3.5/5
  • Overall love: 6.5/15

59%

DO NOT READ ON UNLESS YOU HAVE READ THE BOOK – SPOILER ALERT!


This was supposed to be a quick, fast-paced contemporary, but actually I found it surprisingly hard to get through. I had to put it down for a couple of months and get back to it, but, like all of my books, I did finish it! I never leave a book unread, whether it takes me three times to get through it, it will happen.

‘You’ve got to take pride in your home. You are where you’re from. Otherwise, you’re always going to be lost.’

I liked the premise of the book, but I was left wanting more at the end. I feel like the trip wasn’t as epic as made out, and the characters left something to be desired.

‘I’d found out that when you’re never going to see someone again, it’s not the good-bye that matters. What matters is that you’re never going to be able to say anything else to them. And you’re left with an eternal unfinished conversation.’

Saying that, the characters were entertaining, and I liked the neatness of the subplots – Amy was messed up from the death of her dad, and Roger was messed up by Hailey.
All in all, I’m glad I read it, and I have another of her books which I will be reading, hopefully I will like that more than Amy and Roger.

 


 

Comment below your thoughts, and thank you for reading!

– Catriona

What do ya think?

