BR: Ready Player One by Ernest Cline

 

If you haven’t heard of this book, I don’t quite know how to adequately sum it up. It has been hyped a lot over the past year or so, and I was keen to get stuck into it!

  • Writing quality: 4.5/5
  • Pacing: 5/5
  • Characters: 4.5/5
  • Enjoyability: 4/5 
  • Ease of reading: 3.5/5
  • Thought-provoking: 2.5/5
  • Merit and originality: 4.5/5
  • Overall love: 10/15

77%

DO NOT READ ON UNLESS YOU HAVE READ THE BOOK – SPOILER ALERT!


Ready Player One was a very different read for me than my normal genres, and I was very pleasantly surprised when I began to read it. I liked the gaming setting, which I have never encountered in books before, and I enjoyed the honesty. However, the 80’s pop culture references were slightly lost on me, because it’s not an era I am particularly interested in, and because that was the main theme of the novel, it did lower the enjoyability for me. Of course, that isn’t a fault of the book, and I still found it very entertaining and tense despite it, so if you don’t think it’s your cup of tea because of the 80’s references, I would still give it a go if you feel like a gaming adventure novel!

“No one in the world ever gets what they want and that is beautiful.”

As for the characters, I think they were portrayed very well, and although I didn’t necessarily connect with some of them, I could definitely feel their emotions, which is a feature I’m finding quite a few books recently are lacking (so if there are any great character-driven novels you could recommend, I would really appreciate it!).

 

The pacing was almost perfect. I was completely hooked on the story practically from page one, and I was rooting for the good guys, and hating on the villain.
It was a very well written and thought out book, I will be keeping an eye on Ernest Cline for his next novel!

 


 

Comment below your thoughts! I really want to know whether you guys have read it, or are interested in reading it.

Thank you for reading!

– Catriona

2 thoughts on “BR: Ready Player One by Ernest Cline

  1. I know you said you didn’t really understand the references as I struggled as well. Just out of interest are you a gamer? If so or not, do you think that made a difference to the reading?

    Because I’ve spent a lot of my life gaming so I understand the gaming culture and the references referenced in that way and I think that’s the reason I didn’t really enjoy the book and I know I’m in the minority so I was just curious?

    Like

    1. I game very little – nothing really that could be considered proper gaming really, and certainly not the kind of gaming in the book. I think that did make a difference, although the thing that made the biggest impact for me was the fact that I wasn’t alive in the 80s, and I don’t have any substantial knowledge about that era.

      If it was literature-oriented and with modern day references, I would have connected a lot more to it, and it would have been a lot more enjoyable!

      Liked by 1 person

What do ya think?

