BR: The Marvels by Brian Selznick

I ADORED this book so much. I saw it on the shelf at my local bookstore, and everything about it intrigued me. The cover was beautiful, I loved the gold edges of the pages, and so I bought it.

Definitely one of the best books I’ve read this year!

  • Writing quality: 4/5
  • Pacing: 4.5/5
  • Characters: 5/5
  • Enjoyability: 5/5 
  • Ease of reading: 5/5
  • Thought-provoking: 4.5/5
  • Merit and originality: 4.5/5
  • Overall love: 15/15

95%

DO NOT READ ON UNLESS YOU HAVE READ THE BOOK – SPOILER ALERT!


It has only taken me a couple of days to read, and I have had a very busy weekend! So it is a quick read. It is quite unique in the sense that the first 400 pages of the book are told in pictures, and the second in prose. The story of the pictures drew me in immediately, with a fantastic story line and brilliant, animated characters, and the second story did exactly the same.

This is one of the best books I have read this year, and I am fascinated to read some more of Selznick’s work, his style is so beautiful and heart-wrenching.

This book is definitely tragic. I’m not going to tell you a lot about the actual plotline, except for the fact that it is about a boy who is trying to find his family and his place in the world, and ends up finding a lot more, a hidden world he never even dreamed of.

I realise I’m making it sound like a fantasy, but it is not. It’s about the importance of stories, and history, and imagination.

 


 

 

Thank you for reading!

– Catriona

What do ya think?

