BR: Ross Poldark by Winston Graham

 

So this was the first book in the Poldark series, and it follows Ross Poldark, who comes back to Cornwall after a war in America, from 1783 to 1787.

“One falls in love for good or ill.”

  • Writing quality: 2.5/5
  • Pacing: 4.5/5
  • Characters: 4/5
  • Enjoyability: 3.5/5 
  • Ease of reading: 3/5
  • Thought-provoking: 3/5
  • Merit and originality: 4/5
  • Overall love: 11.5/15

67%

DO NOT READ ON UNLESS YOU HAVE READ THE BOOK – SPOILER ALERT!


Autumn lingered on as if fond of its own perfection.”


 

He wondered if the real world was that one in which men fought for policies and principles and died or lived gloriously – or more often miserably – for the sake of an abstract world like patriotism or independence, or if reality belonged to the humble people and the common land.”

I started reading this because I watched the BBC TV show, and I really enjoyed it! However, the book didn’t really live up to it’s expectations. I thought the writing was really hard to adjust to, and there were a few problems that I had with it.

One cannot turn one’s back on the truth. One cannot wish it away, or pray it away, or even live it away.”

One of the problems that I had with the book was the age gap between Demelza and Ross. She is 17 when he is 29, and he originally hires her at the beginning of the book when she is about 12 or 13, and by the end of it (granted, some years later) they are married, which felt wrong somehow. I wasn’t 100% sure whether she was completely consenting and understanding of what she was doing, because although in a lot of aspects she is mature for her age, she is also very naive in others.

In lust there is always conquest and destruction.”

I adjusted to the writing more by the end of the book, and it became a lot easier and faster to get through.

The degree of a man’s need should not determine the degree of his honesty.”

I have the 3rd, 4th and 5th books in the series, so when I get the 2nd, I will be continuing with it, because I think the plot pacing was very good, and they are releasing a second season which I’m looking forward to. Hopefully, the books will get better, but overall I did enjoy this book, and am excited for the rest of the series.

He that fights and runs away… lives to fight another day.”

 


 

Comment below your thoughts! I really want to know whether you guys have read it, or are interested in reading it.

Thank you for reading!

– Catriona

What do ya think?

