BR: Vampire Academy (Book 1) by Richelle Mead

“The greatest and most powerful revolutions often start very quickly, hidden in the shadows.”

A teen fiction, paranormal-drama type book.

  • Writing quality: 3/5
  • Pacing: 4/5
  • Characters: 4/5
  • Enjoyability: 3.5/5 
  • Ease of reading: 4.5/5
  • Thought-provoking: 2.5/5
  • Merit and originality: 2.5/5
  • Overall love: 12/15

72%

DO NOT READ ON UNLESS YOU HAVE READ THE BOOK – SPOILER ALERT!


I did enjoy this book. I tried to read it about a year ago, but after I got halfway through it, I had to put it to one side as I was getting frustrated and bored with the characters.

The problem that I had was that I didn’t really like Rose Hathaway, who was the main character. I thought her snarkiness was arrogant and detracted from the plot. However, I could not have been more wrong! After watching the movie (which is on Netflix, for those interested, I would recommend it), I absolutely fell in love with Rose’s character. I thought the actress who played her, Zoey Deutch, did a fantastic job in portraying her character.

So, I decided to try reading the book again, and I found it a lot easier to get through. It was written with a basic style, but I believe this was Richelle Mead’s first book, so for a debut novel, it was good. Some of the characters still needed some expanding, and I would like to know more about some of their backgrounds, so I am intrigued to read the rest of the series.

As for the plot, there was a lot of action, it was well-paced, and it is what it looks like; a Vampire Academy, so for all you Twilight lovers, Vampire Diaries lovers, this is almost definitely the book for you. There’s lots of drama and intrigue!

 

What have been your experiences with this book/series? No spoilers please!! Comment down below 🙂

Thank you for reading!

– Catriona x

What do ya think?

