2015 WRAP-UP!

This is so very exciting! It is time to wrap up the year, and what a brilliant reading year it has been. To recap my goals, you can head over to this page but I am going to go through each goal here.

 

Reading

Read 50 books in the year – I managed to read 67 books!

Finish 5 series – I only managed to complete 4 (but oh well):

  • The Selection Series
  • The Inheritance Cycle
  • The Lunar Chronicles
  • To All The Boy’s I’ve Loved Before (Duology)

Complete the Around The World Reading Challenge – honestly I was not keeping track of this, and I can’t go through all my books now!

I participated in the Popsugar’s Reading Challenge, and I managed to complete 41 of the 50 goals, which I think was pretty good! Especially seeing as though I couldn’t complete one of the books (a book that you were supposed to read in school but didn’t – because I read all the books I was supposed to). I consider this a success!!

  1. A book with more than 500 pages ~ A Game Of Thrones
  2. A classic romance ~ Persuasion
  3. A book that became a movie ~ Fifty Shades of Grey
  4. A book published this year ~ Red Queen
  5. A book with a number in the title ~ The 5th Wave
  6. A book written by someone under 30 ~ Torment
  7. A book with non-human characters ~ Cinder
  8. A funny book ~ The Humans
  9. A book by a female author ~ we were liars
  10. A mystery or thriller ~ Life Support
  11. A book with a one-word title ~ Legend
  12. A book of short stories ~ Rags and Bones
  13. A book set in a different country ~ The Dream Thieves
  14. A nonfiction book ~ Do No Harm: Stories of Life, Death and Neurosurgery
  15. A popular author’s first book ~ Eragon
  16. A book from an author you love that you haven’t read yet ~ Inheritance
  17. A book a friend recommended ~ The Giver
  18. A Pulitzer Prize-winning book ~ All The Light We Cannot See
  19. A book based on a true story
  20. A book at the bottom of your to-read list ~ Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour
  21. A book your mum loves ~ Animal Farm
  22. A book that scares you ~ Hollow City
  23. A book more than 100 years old ~ The Picture of Dorian Gray
  24. A book based entirely on its cover ~ Love Letters to the Dead
  25. A book you were supposed to read in school but didn’t
    I read all the books I was supposed to!
  26. A memoir
  27. A book you can finish in a day ~ The Elite
  28. A book with antonyms in the title
  29. A book set somewhere you’ve always wanted to visit ~ Eldest
    Bending the rules a little here – I know Eragon’s land doesn’t actually exist, but Alaglaesia is my number 1 tourist destination!
  30. A book that came out the year you were born
  31. A book with bad reviews ~ Frostbite
  32. A trilogy ~ Anna and the French Kiss, Lola and The Boy Next Door, Isla and The Happily Ever After (This is so cheating, because it’s not technically a trilogy, but I can’t think of anything else!)
  33. A book from your childhood ~ The Magician’s Nephew
  34. A book with a love triangle ~ The One
  35. A book set in the future ~ Cress
  36. A book set in high school ~ Fallen
  37. A book with a colour in the title ~ Scarlet
  38. A book that made you cry ~ The Kite Runner
  39. A book with magic ~ The Night Circus
  40. A graphic novel ~ Deathnote Black Edition Vol 1
  41. A book by an author you’ve never read before ~ 13 Reasons Why
  42. A book you own but have never read ~ City of Bones
  43. A book that takes place in your hometown
  44. A book that was originally written in a different language ~ The Reason I Jump
  45. A book set during Christmas ~ Let It Snow
  46. A book written by an author with your same initials
  47. A play
  48. A banned book
  49. A book based on or turned into a TV show ~ Poldark
  50. A book you started but never finished ~ Vampire Academy

 

Writing

This one is probably the most surprising one to me.

My goals were to write a book and participate in NaNoWriMo, and I managed to complete both of them! I wasn’t going to participate in NaNo, until I was talking to a friend about it the night before, and she said that she was doing it, and that I should do it to so we could support each other, which I decided to do!

 

Blogging

My first goal for blogging was to keep it up for the year – and although there was a gap while I was doing my exams, I managed to stick to that one quite well, as the Bluebird is still chirping!

Get to 2000 views altogether on my blog. This was very optimistic and unrealistic; I thought at the beginning of this year that I would have much more time for working on my blog and posting regularly and everything, however this was not to be, and the view count for the blog in total is 976, 891 views in this year, which is seriously fantastic, because I do find myself too short of time for all the viewing of other people’s blogs that I want to do, so to know that there are people viewing this one is very kind!

My final blogging goal was to get to 50 followers, which we got very close to, so that was brilliant!

Thank you for everyone who reads and follows this blog, it really means a lot that you like it!

 

Again, thank you to everyone who made this a great year, and hope you will join me for another (hopefully!) equal successful year of 2016.

— Catriona

What do ya think?

