About My Book Journal

I am very excited to be writing this post; I love my book journal, and I’m pretty proud of it!

 

IMG_1235
It is a pink moleskine, I believe it’s the original style.

I propped it up against my laptop cover to show how vivid the colour is. I love it!

IMG_1236

On the front cover, I keep small post-it notes. On each review, I post a picture of the book, just to jog my memory, or make the page look prettier, or for whatever reason, but on the post-it notes, I write down the books which I have to print the covers for here, so I can do them in bulk. Once I have about 20 books or so written on the post-its, I’ll get to my computer and print them all off at the same time.

For my pictures, I find the exact edition I read. Sometimes it takes a little effort to find the one, but mostly it’s easy, and it just makes it feel like my bookshelf is in my journal. I just set the height to 6cm, and it scales it down to make sure the font and image(s) still look as good as they do on the beautiful covers!

 

IMG_1243
Here is my review for Animal Farm!

At the beginning of the book, I have a little index (you could say) of all the books I’ve read in 2015. Not unlike the list on my page here. It is numbered, and it has the dates I finished each book as well.

IMG_1238

 

 

You guys know my format for reviews:

  • Title, author and brief explanation
  • My 9-point rating system and the percentage rating
  • My detailed review, wrapped around my favourite quotes from the book

And that is exactly how I lay out my reviews in my book journal! Here are a few more examples:

 

IMG_1248

IMG_1249
IMG_1244

IMG_1241

The last one is Deathnote – a graphic novel (or manga, I don’t know the official name for it) And I didn’t rate it on my 9-point system, I just gave it a rating out of 10. So each review is flexible, I can write whatever I like, in the format I feel like! I’ve written about 15 reviews in it, so there’s a lot of experimenting at the moment.

 

IMG_1251

IMG_1244

As you might have noticed, I pick out a different colour scheme for each book. I choose two colours which call out to me for the particular book, and I use those two! I find that along with the picture of the cover, it makes the review more attractive and special. Here are ‘To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before’ and ‘P.S. I Still Love You’, which both have pretty pink and green colour schemes:

 

IMG_1252

IMG_1253

And ‘All The Light We Cannot See’, which has a light blue and brown scheme:

IMG_1245

IMG_1246

IMG_1247

And ‘The Humans’ is a bright green and orange:

IMG_1242

And a couple more examples:

IMG_1250

IMG_1239

 

 

I hope you enjoyed this post, I really liked putting it together, talk to you next time!

— Catriona

 

One thought on “About My Book Journal

What do ya think?

