BR: To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han

This was a one-day read for me, it was very engrossing, and light. A great holiday read! Amazon page over here!

 

 

  • Writing quality: 4/5
  • Pacing: 4/5
  • Characters: 5/5
  • Enjoyability: 5/5 
  • Ease of reading: 5/5
  • Thought-provoking: 3.5/5
  • Merit and originality: 4/5
  • Overall love: 13/15

87%

DO NOT READ ON UNLESS YOU HAVE READ THE BOOK – SPOILER ALERT!


“I don’t have to be so afraid of goodbye, because goodbye doesn’t have to be forever.”

Lara Jean was such a great character – Jenny Han built her with believable flaws, and a good heart. I liked how her family played such an intrinsic part in the book; a lot of YA books for me seem to forget all about the parents and the siblings, except for side comments.

“Sometimes you have to scream out emotions, if you don’t they’ll fester.”

I adore the family dynamic, and how much Lara Jean and her sisters like baking; it made for very interesting reading, being a fond baker myself. Also, I liked how Lara Jean embraced the Korean culture. I have never come across it before, and it was great to read about.

“I’m a betrayer of the worst kind, because I’m betraying my own sister, and there’s no greater betrayal than that.”

I loved the little details in this book, like the food she ate and the outfits she put on.

“A reckless driver is better than a scared one.”

 


There were a lot of quotes in this review, tell me if you prefer it when there are less – but I love quotes from books!

 

Thank you for reading!

– Catriona x

What do ya think?

