BR: “Animal Farm” by George Orwell

Although this is a renowned, loved classic. I didn’t really like it. (Please don’t kill me!)

I’m just glad it was so short, and I can say that I’ve read a George Orwell!

 

 

  • Writing quality: 4/5
  • Plot movement: 4/5
  • Plot strength: 3.5/5
  • Characters: 2.5/5 – Although some of the characters had interesting personalities, they weren’t complex, and none were given a voice.
  • Enjoyability: 3/5
  • Ease of reading: 4/5
  • Thought-provoking: 4/5
  • Merit and originality: 4.5/5
  • Overall love: 6/10

71%

DO NOT READ ON UNLESS YOU HAVE READ THE BOOK – SPOILER ALERT!


 

The main emotion that I felt when finishing this book was anger at Napoleon, and even the other characters who were ignorant and weak – but mainly at Napoleon!

I couldn’t understand the character of Squealer. Napoleon is clearly corrupted (even evil?) but is Squealer the same? To me, his loyalty to Napoleon was out of ignorance, but it was hard to believe, and confusing.

 

“All animals are created equal, but some animals are more equal than others.”

(What an iconic quote!)

 

I understand that this book is a classic, and has a moral. What I personally learned from it was that people who have power can become corrupted no matter how pure their intentions, and that this can make them hugely dangerous. Furthermore, than power is the lifetime wish of some people, while others are content to do very hard work for the welfare of others.

Also, though it is alright to challenge someone’s authority if you think their morality is becoming distorted, you must ensure that through the process of usurping them (which much be done selflessly and sustainably) you stay pure in heart, protecting all those around you.

 

 

All in all, this book was a very quick read for me, as it was only 90-ish pages, but I was angry and frustrated a lot of the time, so I didn’t really enjoy it – though it did teach me a lot about leadership and personal responsibility.


 

Comment below on your thoughts! Also, feel free to recommend some of your favourites. Are there any book which you would like me to review?

Thank you for reading!

– Catriona x

One thought on “BR: “Animal Farm” by George Orwell

What do ya think?

