BR: “Death Note (Vol 1)” by Tsugumi Ohba and Takeshi Obata

 

This is a manga which follows the story of a young boy who comes into possession of a notebook. In this notebook, he can write any name, and that person will die.

 

I decided not to rate this on my 9 point system, because I don’t think a manga can be accurately measured against the same scale as a novel. So I’ve just used the overall love to give it a percentage.

  • Overall love: 8.5/10

85%


 

This is the first manga I have ever read, and I was very impressed by the talent of the author and artist, though the format of right to left and back cover to front cover took a lot of getting used to.

The drawings were very good, I specially loved the character’s faces – the expressions were fantastic! The premise and plot were very interesting, and I adore the two main characters – Light and “L”.

It made me think about what I would do if I was in Light’s situation, and how morally justified he was to kill those people. It was one of those books where I didn’t know whose side I was on.

The only problem that I had was that I thought it lacked some depth as there was only one plot line, but I definitely want to continue with this series, and the book itself is so beautiful – the black edition is gorgeous!

 


 

Comment below on your thoughts! Also, feel free to recommend some of your favourites. Are there any book which you would like me to review?

Thank you for reading!

– Catriona x

What do ya think?

