Translated Tuesday: S1E3 (Anna and the French Kiss)

Hope everyone is having a lovely day! Click here for the index of posts, and please enjoy these 5 translated extracts of Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins – a fabulous contemporary (you can check out my review for it here)

 

 

Original:

I browse my favourite message board to see what they’re saying about Dad’s new film.

 

Improved:

This is my favorite message board movie tells the story of the father will look to see.

 

It sounds like whoever wrote that was drunk!


 

 

Original:

And when I touch his arm, I shove it. Because that’s what friends do.

 

Improved:

When I touched her hand, he translated for me. What members.

 

What members?


 

Original:

Dirty clothes and towels in heaps across the floor. Half-empty water bottles. The contents of his school bag spill from underneath his bed, crinkled papers and blank worksheets. I take a hesitant whiff. Dank. It smells dank.

 

Improved:

Dirty clothes each floor polotentsem.Napolovinu empty bottle vody.Chisty sheet of paper under your bed, curled erase the contents of his bag. I have a little restraint. With gratitude. It was a musty smell.

 

I think there were some major problems there with the translation! Some of it is still in Dutch or Slovak.


 

 

Original:

Classes pick up with the professeurs anxious to get to the halfway point in their lesson plans. We pull all-nighters to keep up, and we cram to prepare for their finals.

 

Improved:

Desire and class Professeurs reach the center of the course. We collected their final preparations for the game, creating a craving -nighters.

 

Creating a craving… Nighters!


 

 

Original:

I carry the box eagerly to the lobby sofas and dig for something to open it with.

 

Improved:

I am a hot box lobby sofa, an open dig.

 

No idea what that means!

 

 

I laughed with all of those!

Thank you for reading,

– Catriona

What do ya think?

