BR: “Inheritance” by Christopher Paolini

This is the fourth and final book in the Inheritance series, so as usual I strongly recommend you don’t read this unless you have read the first three at least, because there may be spoilers for the others (which are too good to miss!)

This follows Eragon again, as he attempts to defeat Galbatorix. With the help of his allies, will he succeed? Or does Galbatorix have some final tricks up his sleeve…

Live in the present, remember the past, and fear not for the future, for it doesn’t exist and never shall. There is only now.

 

  • Writing quality: 5/5 – As expected, gorgeous! Though Eragon was the most beautifully written book.
  • Plot movement: 4/5 – I read it quite fast, but I was tired of the almost constant wars.
  • Plot strength: 4/5
  • Characters: 4.5/5 – Most of the characters were understandable if not likeable. I loved the dragons!
  • Enjoyability: 4/5
  • Ease of reading: 4/5
  • Thought-provoking: 4.5/5
  • Merit and originality: 4.5/5 – Although most of the books is a new concept, I drew some large parallels to LoTR
  • Overall love: 8/10

85%

 

DO NOT READ ON UNLESS YOU HAVE READ THE BOOK – SPOILER ALERT!


 

 

And the ship sailed onwards, gliding serenely down the  moonlight river towards the dark lands beyond.

I, for the most part, really enjoyed this book – though it was quite heavy to get through. The battles were well thought out (but by this stage, there had been so many battles I was beginning to get a bit tired of them), the plot moved along well, and it surprisingly taught me a lot about morality.

It’s impossible to go through life unscathed. Nor should you want to. By the hurts we accumulate, we measure both our follies and our accomplishments.

I really appreciated how Christopher Paolini spent a good 50 pages at the end continuing the story after they won the big final battle. I’ve been so invested in this series, I cried at the end! It was because there weren’t many happy endings for the characters who had worked so hard and achieved what they did, and also because I was sad that it ended.

Leave the dead to the earth.  They’re not meant for us.

In regard to the characters, Eragon was my favourite, as he has been from the very beginning, because although he has been given these huge powers, he is humble and willing to give everything he can to the good of the people. I liked Nasuada because of her strength, morality and determination, and Arya for her wisdom and decorum, even in battle. I was surprised to find that I warmed to Murtagh, it was his thoughtful actions to Nasuada and his explanation about his tragic life which made me change my mind about his character.

Learn to see what you are looking at.

I found Angela a very interesting and mysterious character, and despite the fact that it is her very mystery which makes her a fascinating character, I would have enjoyed to be enlightened about her past.

He had never wanted to become a warrior, but a warrior he had become, and he was determined to best all those who came before him.

Christopher tied up most of the plot threads very nicely, but I was very interested in where Eragon’s mother, Selena, went.

However, I watched an interview with Christopher and he said that there would be a book five to tied up the ends which he purposefully left loose, but he doesn’t know when he’s going to write it. I hope soon-ish!

 

 


 

Comment below on your thoughts! Also, feel free to recommend some of your favourites. Are there any book which you would like me to review?

Thank you for reading!

– Catriona x

One thought on “BR: “Inheritance” by Christopher Paolini

What do ya think?

