Top 10: Top 10 Booktubers (S1E2)

This is a longer post than usual, hope you enjoy!

I love watching booktube videos (especially when I should be reading), and it’s definitely one of my guilty pleasures. I am subscribed to about 20 booktubers, and I want to tell you 10 of my favourites! These are in no particular order, and you can click on their names to get to their channel.

Little Book Owl

Possibly one of my favourite booktubers (and it’s not just because we have the same name, and she even spells it the same way), on this channel there is a typical range of book hauls, TBRs, Wrap-Ups, Read-A-Thons and the occasional bookshelf tour,  just with a contagious passion for reading!

Some of my favourite videos are this one (On Reading Multiple Books At Once), or this one (How to Read-A-Thon) and for those who are interested in setting up your own booktube account, she has lots of helpful tips!

Kristina Horner

Kristina is not only a fantastic booktuber, with a  loveable personality, she is also extremely creative, with many projects on the go at once. Her collaborative account, Job Hunters, is very entertaining! I love videos like her Video Diary to The Strand, her 2014 NaNoWriMo video, and her 2013 one, and her 2012 one, along with her tips for completing NaNoWriMo. As an aspiring author, these videos are very inspirational!

jessiethereader

Jessie is a well-known booktuber, and for good reason! He’s funny, cute, and posts many book reviews as well as the typical hauls and wrap-ups (because really, we love watching these, but reviews are the best), but not only that, he also posts funny challenges with other booktubers and friends, which are hilarious! Some of my favourites are The First Sentence Challenge and this one in which he may be drunk!

PolandbananasBOOKS

I only recently subscribed to Christine’s channel, and I have gone through a lot of her old videos because she is so passionate and excited about reading! She has a great friendship with jessiethereader and Katytastic, and the three of them have very funny challenges together. I love her Literal Book Titles and many other people thought so, so she created Part 2 which is also fantastic. My favourite thing about Christine is that she posts long, 12 minute+ book reviews, the best being Cress, The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer (okay, that’s not 12 minutes) and Allegiant (18 minutes!) I love how detailed they are, and how involved in the stories Christine becomes.

Jen Campbell

Jen is actually a published author, having written successful books including the ‘Weird Things Customers Say in Bookshops’ series. What makes her unique is that she likes to just chat with her subscribers, and is very friendly! She is one of the only booktubers I follow who isn’t a YA reader, and her love of classics and poetry is makes me interested in expanding my genres!

Jean Bookishthoughts

Jean also doesn’t singularly read YA books, and it’s very refreshing. She is a fascinating character, who loves Ancient Greek Novels, and talks about her fantastic taste in books. She doesn’t post generic tags or challenges, preferring to talk to her viewers about her summer reading plans, how to read classical literature, some of her favourite classical literature and how to balance studying and reading. Her hair is also gorgeous!

thebookbasement

Sophia is a lovely girl, and although she isn’t as active as some of the other booktubers on this list, she definitely deserves to be here. I love her review of The Raven Boys, The Dream Thieves, and we were liars. She also posts movie reviews like Insurgent and Mockingjay Part 1, and I love her tag videos! Whenever she posts something, I immediately watch it.

WhittyNovels

Whitney is a lovely person, and always starts her videos with a joke and a play on her ukele, as well as other quirky things which make her unique. She has tons of book hauls, and book reviews, and I love hearing her opinion on a particular book. Her Book Scavenger Hunt is quickly my favourite of her tags/challenges, and her Shakespeare in Emojis is hilarious.

Ariel Bissett

Ariel absolutely had to be on this list. She is so interesting, and frequently changes my opinions on reading. One of her best posts is this one, where she argues the case for annotating books (which I have always unconsciously been against). She also talks about overanalysing books, and discusses whether fanfiction is literature. I could seriously go on and on linking to some of her fabulous posts, but they really are all worth your attention. Ariel loves talking about books and arguing against some preconceived notion which I had never even thought about!

And last, but not least…

WellDoneBooks

This guy, seriously reads a TON of books (78 already this year according to his goodreads). He has a few projects which are interesting to follow, including 0by16, and I like videos like his classics book tag and his favourite books of 2014.

There you go! 10 of my favourite booktubers, links to their channels, and links to some of my favourite videos.

But I have a few more favourites, and here are some honourable mentions:

priceiswong

Katytastic

Benjaminoftomes

ItsWayPastMyBedTime (not purely a booktuber, I know, but a fantastic channel)

vincentvanstop

 

 

Thank you for reading, comment below your favourite book tubers!

– Catriona x

What do ya think?

