“Do No Harm” a Memoir by Henry Marsh

 

 

Do No Harm is a memoir where Henry Marsh retells his life as an English neurosurgeon. He tells us of his failures, his triumphs, and how he got to where he is.

This is the first non-fiction book I’ve read! I’ve been hesitant of them because I think I’ll be bored by them (similar to how I feel about classics!) but I was very pleasantly surprised by this – I think because it was formatted like a fiction book, it read like a story.

 

  • Writing quality: 4/5
  • Plot movement: 4/5
  • Plot strength: 3.5
  • Characters: 4/5 – Henry was the only character we really got to know, but I love how he gave us all aspects of his personality; especially the bad.
  • Enjoyability: 4.5/5
  • Ease of reading: 4.5/5
  • Thought-provoking: 4.5/5
  • Merit and originality: 4.5/5
  • Overall love: 8.5/10

84%

At the beginning, the book was quite slow, but in the last 100 pages or so, I really started to enjoy it. It was a very powerful insight into the world of English neurosurgery, and I appreciated the complete honesty with his behaviour and mistakes during his career.

There was a lot of complicated medical language, but it wasn’t presented in a way that was too hard to follow. It was the patients who mattered, that was the resounding voice in this book, and I think that in itself was a powerful message.

Very interesting, great book!

 

Comment below on your thoughts! Also, feel free to recommend some of your favourites. Are there any book which you would like me to review?

One thought on ““Do No Harm” a Memoir by Henry Marsh

What do ya think?

