About: Bluebird’s Book List (S1E2)

I’ve been looking at my shelves, and I’ve realised how narrow my reading is. I’ve always been aware that I gravitate towards the YA section when I go into Waterstones, but I’ve realised that I only have 2 classics on my bookshelves!

I also lack in many other departments. New adult, contemporary, thrillers, mysteries, even fantasy.

 

I wanted this to change! But I didn’t know where to start, so of course I headed over to the internet, and after browsing, I found some very useful websites. The Times and The Guardian have lists of the greatest 100 books, and there are many people who have projects to read through a one of the big lists.

There are many other lists; The Literary Canon, The BBC’s 50 Books You Must Read Before You Die, however, the problem I have with these lists is that they aren’t tailored to me (for obvious reasons!).

 

So I am going to be writing my own lists of books I want to read. And this list is not going to be stagnant. If there’s a book that I have missed and I want to add it, I will!

 

Genre doesn’t determine whether a book gets onto the list. Any books which I really want to read, but I don’t think I’ll be motivated enough to, or anything along those lines, I will add.

 

This list will be called ‘Bluebird’s Book List’, and I am going to use many sources to collate the list. I have lots books I know will be going on there – for example; Pride and Prejudice (shock; I haven’t read that yet!), Anne Frank’s Diary of a Young Girl, so it should fill up quite quickly.

 

And in regard to number… It’s my plan to make the main bulk of the list finished by the end of this year, and I’m hoping it will be about 300 books. This is a nice number for such a long-term project, without being completely overwhelming! Therefore, if I read about 20 of them a year, I will be get through them in 15 years.

 

So I will update you on my progress with this list. I am very excited for this project, please let me know in the comments what you think about it! Are you following a list? Have you created your own?

– Catriona x

2 thoughts on “About: Bluebird’s Book List (S1E2)

What do ya think?

