Top 10: Books of 2015 so far (S1E1)

This is another exciting new series I am starting, and is inspired by The Broke and the Bookish, who started the fantastic book meme of Top Ten Tuesday. I thought this was a great idea; I love lists!

However, I already have Translate Tuesday, and I don’t think two scheduled posts a day is a good plan, so I’m going to do my Top Tens on Thursday, and I am not going to be following exactly the weekly meme. Instead, I’m going to be taking a mix of the past posts which you can find in the link above, and I am also going to be thinking of my own.

So getting into this post, I am going to be counting down my top ten books of this year so far, enjoy!

 

10. Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard – This has got many mixed reviews. Given a respectably high 4.14 on goodreads, lots of people share my opinion! It is a great book, with a sound premise and interesting characters. The main issue that I found was the love story. It was a love triangle, which hardly ever fails to turn me off a book, and this was no different. Despite this, I loved the main character, most of the other characters, and the plot line; I flew through the book.

 

 

9. Cress by Marissa Meyer – The third instalment in the Lunar Chronicles, I loved everything about this book, as did many others, as it has a 4.49 on goodreads. Cress, the new character, was very likeable, the presence of the previous characters added a lovely dimension to the story, and it gave each book a pleasant familiarity; the series so far has flowed very nicely. It’s not a typical YA series where it can feel like a duology has been stretched into a trilogy with redundant characters, relationships and sub-plots.

 

 

8. The Humans by Matt Haig – Has got 4.06 on goodreads, and I was hesitant at first about it. After reading about 50 pages, I was finding it difficult to adjust to the writing style. However, I pushed through, and there was some very interesting philosophy in there in parts. It turned out to be surprisingly enjoyable, I liked the ending, and there will be a full review coming up in the next couple of weeks.

 

 

7. Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Sáenz – An enjoyable book from the start to the finish, it had a nice pace, nice writing style, and it dealt with some topics which I normally don’t read about. It was given a 4.30 on goodreads, and I can understand why. The characters were well developed and likeable, and the deep exploration of an interesting topic made this a great read.

 

 

6. Persuasion by Jane Austen – I wasn’t sure about this book. It was one of the last novels she wrote, and so the writing was complex, intricate and very developed. It was definitely tough to get through, and took me a while (I sometimes found myself rereading a paragraph several times to understand the phrasing!). However it was a lovely story; I liked the protagonist, she looked weak but she was strong in her kindness and calmness in tricky situations. It has been given a 4.12 on goodreads, and certainly lives up to Austen’s fantastic reputation.

 

 

5. Inheritance by Christopher Paolini – I was stuck between Inheritance and Eldest, but Inheritance was such a fantastic end to the series, and although there were things about it which I didn’t like, I’ve been so invested in this series since I was very young, I have fallen in love with the characters and the land. It has a 4.05 on goodreads, and this series is a great start to fantasy in my opinion. If you can’t get into Lord of the Rings, you should have a crack at this!

 

 

4. Do No Harm by Henry Marsh – This is the first non-fiction book I have ever read, and it was very interesting. I loved how truthful Henry Marsh was, he was very honest in his triumphs but especially his failures. It makes me hope I never have to have surgery! With a 4.27 on goodreads, it is well worth a read, and I would recommend for any students considering medicine; it is an insight which is not often portrayed.

 

 

3. The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini – Recommended to me by one of my friends, this book has really changed my perspective on many things, for example, relationships, consequences of a war on a local scale, and social status. I have yet to pick up another Hosseini book, but you can bet I will be soon, the characters were so real, and the story was so touching. This has a 4.22 on goodreads.

 

 

2. All The Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr – Very hyped last year, and for good reason. This book deals with a tough subject, with characters who have to deal with very difficult lives. The weaving of all the plot lines and the contrasts between the characters made this book a beautiful read, and I’d only got part of the way through before I recognised it would be one of the best of the year. And it landed second place! It has a 4.28 on goodreads, and I completely recommend (only not for a light read!)

 

 

1. The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern – with surprisingly the lowest goodreads rating on this list with 4.01, I am confident in saying that this has been the best book I have read this year so far. The almost tangible magic of the story was so powerful, and the characters were so brilliant. This entire story was perfect, from the premise to the execution. When I was reading I felt like I was in another world in this world! It was like I was on another plane, and it was truly gorgeous.

 

 

 

So there you are! My top ten reads of this year so far ranked to the best (1). I hope you enjoyed this, I certainly loved writing it!

I’m sorry for the late post, it was supposed to be up yesterday (half an hour ago!) but I was very busy today, and this took me longer than expected.

Thank you for reading, talk soon, and I would love to hear down below your favourite books of the year so far!

 

– Catriona x

What do ya think?

