2015 Popsugar Challenge | June Update

Thought I’d give you a detailed update about what I’ve been reading, and how I’m progressing with my goals!

 

  1. A book with more than 500 pages
    I still haven’t read A Game of Thrones – but I have organised a read-a-long with my friend later this month, which I will be telling you about closer to the time!
  2. A classic romance ~ Persuasion ~ 23.3.15
    I thought I’d be reading Pride and Prejudice, but I actually picked up another Jane Austen – Persuasion!
  3. A book that became a movie ~ Fifty Shades of Grey
    Don’t yell at me! People are free to read what they want to, and we should not be judged for that. It doesn’t change who we are.
  4. A book published this year ~ Red Queen
    So looking through the books I’ve read this year, and I decided to change a few, I know I had this with ‘A book with a colour in the title’ but I read Scarlet! So…
  5. A book with a number in the title ~ The 5th Wave
  6. A book written by someone under 30 ~ Torment
    Lauren Kate is under 30 (or she was when she wrote it I believe…)
  7. A book with non-human characters ~ Cinder
    What’s to say? You can’t get much more cool than cyborgs.
  8. A funny book ~ The Humans
    It’s not really a funny book, but it was very satirical, and I really enjoyed the subtle humour
  9. A book by a female author ~ we were liars
    The first book I read in 2015!
  10. A mystery or thriller
    … Not yet …
  11. A book with a one-word title ~ Legend
    Well that’s that!
  12. A book of short stories
    I decided not to put ‘Let it Snow’ for this one – I’m more likely to read another collection of short stories than a Christmas book!
  13. A book set in a different country ~ The Dream Thieves
    America!
  14. A nonfiction book ~ Do No Harm: Stories of Life, Death and Neurosurgery
    Finally finished this! This took me a good 3-ish months on and off to get through; but so worth it, loved it!
  15. A popular author’s first book ~ Eragon
    Christopher Paolini’s first book! I love Christopher Paolini, and his series has been a huge bestseller!
  16. A book from an author you love that you haven’t read yet
  17. A book a friend recommended ~ The Giver
    My book swapping buddy lent this to me
  18. A Pulitzer Prize-winning book
  19. A book based on a true story
    Do No Harm would count for this as well, but I won’t! I’ll find something…
  20. A book at the bottom of your to-read list
  21. A book your mum loves
  22. A book that scares you
  23. A book more than 100 years old
  24. A book based entirely on its cover ~ Love Letters to the Dead
  25. A book you were supposed to read in school but didn’t
    I read all the books I was supposed to!
  26. A memoir
    Again, Do No Harm!
  27. A book you can finish in a day ~ The Elite
    It is a pretty short book!
  28. A book with antonyms in the title
    I don’t think I’ve done this…
  29. A book set somewhere you’ve always wanted to visit ~ Eldest
    Bending the rules a little here – I know Eragon’s land doesn’t actually exist, but Alaglaesia is my number 1 tourist destination!
  30. A book that came out the year you were born
    The Perks of Being a Wallflower, A Walk to Remember, there were lots!
  31. A book with bad reviews
  32. A trilogy
    I read the Fifty Shades trilogy, but I’ve already used Fifty…
  33. A book from your childhood
    Might read Ingo, Inkheart, or Magyk – loved those!
  34. A book with a love triangle ~ The One
  35. A book set in the future ~ Cress
  36. A book set in high school ~ Fallen
  37. A book with a colour in the title ~ Scarlet
  38. A book that made you cry ~ The Kite Runner
    Honestly, I never cry at books, but this was the closest I got to!
  39. A book with magic ~ The Night Circus
    The most magical book I’ve read for a long time!
  40. A graphic novel ~ Deathnote Black Edition Vol 1
    I don’t know if this counts… But it’s the closest for me!
  41. A book by an author you’ve never read before ~ 13 Reasons Why
    Written by Jay Asher; I never even heard of him!
  42. A book you own but have never read ~ Inheritance
    Doesn’t this count for all books? But seriously, this is the most fitting. I loved the first 3 books, and I bought the last one, but never got round to reading it, until now!
  43. A book that takes place in your hometown
  44. A book that was originally written in a different language
  45. A book set during Christmas ~ Let It Snow
  46. A book written by an author with your same initials
  47. A play
  48. A banned book
  49. A book based on or turned into a TV show
  50. A book you started but never finished
    Technically Inheritance could count for this too…

 

That took a surprisingly long time, but I’m glad I did it, I didn’t realise how many I’d completed already!

I’ve done 25 challenges out of 50 – exactly halfway! I’m right on track.

 

Thank you for reading!

~ Catriona ~

What do ya think?

