BR: “The City of Bones” by Cassandra Clare

What a book! I have (strangely) put off this book for so long, and I’m not even sure why. But I did finally get round to it.

 

Blurb synopsis:

Sixteen-year-old Clary Fray is an ordinary teenager, who likes hanging out in Brooklyn with her friends. But everything changes the night she witnesses a murder, committed by a group of teens armed with medieval weaponry. The murderous group are Shadowhunters, secret warriors dedicated to driving demons out of this dimension and back into their own. Drawn inexorably into a terrifying world, Clary slowly begins to learn the truth about her family – and the battle for the fate of the world.

My opinion:

The problem that I had with this book, is that I already watched the movie (several times) with my sister – a rabid Mortal Instruments fan – which ruined it for me. Completely.

I already knew what was going to happen, so I wasn’t building a new world in my mind; I was building on top of another picture. A new, but unpleasant experience for me, because I normally read the book before I watch the movie.

Therefore, this rating may be a bit lower than most people expect, but I didn’t enjoy reading this book. I am going to be continuing the series, so watch out for the next one in a few weeks! (hopefully, if I get round to it)

RATING: 3/5 

 

Comment below on your thoughts! Also, feel free to recommend some of your favourites. Are there any book which you would like me to review?

What do ya think?

