BR: “Eragon” by Christopher Paolini

EragonIf this book can’t get 5 stars, I honestly don’t know what can!

 

Blurb synopsis:

Eragon’s adventure begins when he is out hunting one day in the mountainous region of his world known as the Spine. While eyeing-up a tasty deer with his bow, his aim is disturbed by a polished blue stone that explodes from the sky and narrowly misses him. The oval shaped object, cool and frictionless to his touch, weighs several pounds and it turns out to be his only reward from his day’s hunting session. Returning to his home town Carvahall, Eragon’s unsuccessful attempts to exchange the stone for meat for his family begins a run of bad luck that will eventually force him to flee his place of birth. This heralds the beginning of a new destiny for him.

The stone is in fact a dragon’s egg and it hatches in Eragon’s company–making him the first new Dragon Rider for many years. Suddenly, the fate of the Empire rests in his hands and he must navigate a dark and dangerous terrain, and some formidable enemies, to challenge the might of a king whose evil is limitless.

My opinion:

I read this a long time ago, just after I read the Lord of the Rings, and fell into a fantasy slump. Following Tolkien must be hard for all fantasy authors, but Paolini has done a fantastic job.

I love Eragon – he is such a believable, likeable character. And I love the fantasy land which Paolini created.

This is a book which I go back to again and again, but I have yet to marathon the whole series so I can finally read the last one – I waited a long time for the last one, and by the time I did, I was sucked into schoolwork, with not enough time for reading heavy fantasy series like this.

RATING: 4.5/5 

 

Comment below on your thoughts! Also, feel free to recommend some of your favourites. Are there any book which you would like me to review?

2 thoughts on “BR: “Eragon” by Christopher Paolini

What do ya think?

