BR: “Journey to the River Sea” by Eva Ibbotson

So I read this a little while ago, but I wanted to share it with you, because it is such a moving story, and a really quick, enjoyable read!

 

Blurb synopsis:

Maia, an orphan, can’t wait to reach her distant relatives a thousand miles up the Amazon. She imagines a loving family with whom she will share great adventures. Instead she finds two spiteful cousins who see the jungle as the enemy and refuse to go outdoors. But the wonders of the rainforest more than make up for the hideous Carters. And when Maia meets a mysterious boy who lives alone on the wild river shores, she begins a spectacular journey to the heart of an extraordinary new world.

My opinion:

This book will stay with you for a long time. It is a heartwarming journey of a young girl to find her family, and after realising the true horrors of her blood relatives, she discovers another family.

Eva Ibboston is one of the writers who never writes a bad book in my opinion. She mainly writes two types of books – one for younger readers, and one for slightly older readers (and when I say older, I mean young adult section). Journey to the River Sea is in the younger readers section, and this is why I was putting it off for a while; I wasn’t sure whether it would interest me enough for me to read it.

It was definitely interesting enough, and I highly recommend it!

RATING: 4/5 

 

Comment below on your thoughts! Also, feel free to recommend some of your favourites. Are there any book which you would like me to review?

What do ya think?

