BR: “If I Stay” by Gayle Forman

If I Stay book cover If I Stay is a book which most readers will have come across in the past month or so, especially after it was made into a movie.

Amazon synopsis:

Life can change in an instant.

A cold February morning . . . a snowy road . . . and suddenly all of Mia’s choices are gone. Except one.

As alone as she’ll ever be, Mia must make the most difficult choice of all.

Gripping, heartrending and ultimately life-affirming, If I Stay will make you appreciate all that you have, all that you’ve lost – and all that might be.

My synopsis:

A teenage cello player (Mia) falls in love with a upcoming rock star (Adam). After a terrible car crash, she must make the choice to live or die.

My opinion:

I liked the idea of writing the book in flashbacks; it emphasised the important events to Mia. However, I did find that sometimes it became tiresome; as I am a person who likes things more in chronological order.

It was very moving, though probably not as much as was advertised.

RATING: 4/5 stars

I liked it enough to buy the second one, “Where She Went” although I always feel required to buy the sequels…

BONUS: “Where She Went”

Adam and Mia’s story continues. They have broken up – but what will happen when they meet again?

Where She Went book coverI have to say, I found “Where She Went” quite long-winded. However, I found it realistic (considering the events of the first book) and enjoyable.

RATING: 3 and-a-half/5 stars

Comment below on your thoughts, on either of the books. Also, feel free to recommend some of your favourites. Are there any books which you would like me to review?

What do ya think?

